God is God Apart from Us

I teach a kids class (which we fondly call “Little Lifers”) on Wednesday nights at my church and we just started a new series based off Bruce Ware’s “Big Truths for Young Hearts.”.  This past week, we finished our third lesson, learning that ”God is God Apart from Us.”  Often times when I prepare for my kids class, I end up getting way more out of it myself.

Have you ever just thought for a second about how big God is?  Have you pondered His omnipotence?  His self-existence?  His need of nothing?  His ability to measure the oceans in the hollow of His hand?  It’s a lot to grasp.  Many times, it is too much for me to fathom.

“Who has measured the waters in the hollow of His hand and marked off the heavens with a span, enclosed the dust of the earth in a measure and weighed the mountains in scales and the hills in a balance?” —Isaiah 40:12

And then I think, “What is man that You are mindful of him (Psalm 8:4)?”   What love and mercy He has shown toward us all.

May the self-sustaining God, the uncreated Creator, be glorified in each of us!

Leave a Reply

