A review of Professor Grant Horner’s Bible Reading System

“The unfolding of Your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple.  I open my mouth and pant, because I long for Your commandments.”  -Psalm 119:130-131

Reading God’s Word takes effort, but I’ve learned over the last month that it is very rewarding. The more you’re in the Word, the more you hunger for the Word. It’s kind of similar to my strange obsession with Orange Leaf. The more I eat froyo, the more I crave it!

In the past, I’ve tried the one-year Bibles and the strict little plans and quite honestly, I do well to last about two weeks. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read Genesis 1, Matthew 1, Psalms 1, and Proverbs 1. Don’t get me wrong, those are all great chapters, but like practicing music, the beginning often gets the most attention just because of where it’s placed.

This year, I decided to try a new system, Professor Grant Horner’s Bible Reading System.  He divides the Bible into 10 lists, and you read one chapter from each list per day.  Before I started it, I was thinking, “There’s no way I’ll be able to keep this one up. I can’t even keep up with four chapters a day in the Daily Bible.”  One month later, I am eating way more than I’ve eaten in my whole life and I’m loving every bite.  This system is working for me only by the grace of God. It’s definitely Him at work in me, giving me the motivation and desire to read, and for that I am so very thankful.

What I love about this system is that it gives you a well-balanced diet while still providing plenty of variety. There are so many little things that connect from book to book that I never would’ve caught on to without using this system. It’s like when you try a new combination of flavors that make your taste-buds jump for joy and then you hurry back to try another bite of something else together to see how well those flavors blend.

The best thing about the system is that it’s full of grace. If you miss a day, it’s not a big deal. In the past, when I’ve tried to do Bible-reading plans that are dated and I miss a day, there’s no way I can just pick up on the next day without reading what I skipped. This has no dates involved so you just pick up right where you left off with a guilt-free conscience!

You are what you eat, right? Garbage in, garbage out. So if you keep shoveling in Truth, you will eventually pump out gracious words that are seasoned with Scripture.

Dr. Horner wrote, “The goal of this system is simple, and twofold: To know Scripture, and to love and obey God more.

Well, I’m in love with this system because it has made me fall more in love with my Savior. God’s Word has become more of a delight to me and Jesus is bigger in my eyes. I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

