Dressed in His righteousness alone…

Dressed in His righteousness alone.
Faultless to stand before the throne.
{“My Hope is Built on Nothing Less” by Edward Mote}

[Picture from ehow.com]

Dressed in His righteousness…ALONE. How many times do I try to put on something else to earn favor with God? There is no way I could ever gain God’s approval on my own. No matter how many “good” things I do, God makes it clear in Isaiah 64:6 that all my righteous deeds are like polluted garments or filthy rags. If we are not hidden in Christ, God is offended by even our seemingly “good” deeds.

“We have all become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous deeds are like a polluted garment.” {Isaiah 64:6}

But, in God’s mercy, He saw fit to provide a way for me to be made righteous. He sent His Son Jesus in the flesh, who put on the robe of humanity so He could die in my place and free me from the power of sin. He made Jesus Christ become sin for me. All my sins were put into Christ’s account.  And in return, He put His righteousness in my account.

“For our sake He made Him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God.” {2 Corinthians 5:21}

Since I have put my faith and trust in Christ, every time God looks at my heart, He sees Christ’s righteousness—His perfect, sinless heart and life—rather than my flawed, rebellious, sinful heart. When I’m dressed in Christ’s righteousness alone, I’m seen faultless and am able to stand before the throne! What a wonderful Savior!

“I will greatly rejoice in the LORD; my soul shall exult in my God, for He has clothed me with the garments of salvation; He has covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself like a priest with a beautiful headdress, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.” {Isaiah 61:10}

One of my favorite hymns as recorded at Together for the Gospel 2008.

Leave a Reply

