Quiche makes me feel classy. {Recipe}

I don’t remember exactly when I fell in love with quiche, but we’ve had a great relationship ever since. Quiche is a classic French food that actually originated in Germany…go figure. It can be served for breakfast, lunch, or even dinner and pairs nicely with fruit, a salad or soup.

Feel free to call me crazy, but there is something about eating quiche that makes me feel classy. Sometimes I feel like I need to get dressed up when I eat a piece because it’s such a dignified sounding dish. Can’t you just see my favorite actress ever eating a piece of quiche in this outfit, her red nails resting daintily on a silver fork as she prepares her next bite? Just sayin’.

A lot of quiche recipes I’ve found turn out watery and gross, but this one is perfect. It’s tried, true, and often requested. So go ahead…put on your Sunday best…and try it for yourself!

Sarah Caroline’s Quiche [originally found on FoodNetwork]
4 eggs
1 C. half-and-half
½ C. light mayonnaise
2 T. flour
1/3 C. minced onions
Salt and garlic powder
8 oz. shredded  sharp cheddar cheese
1 (10 oz.) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained well
1 (9”) deep-dish unbaked pie shell

Preheat oven to 350o. Hand whip eggs, half-and-half, mayonnaise, and flour in a medium mixing bowl. Add remaining ingredients. Pour into an unbaked 9”, deep-dish pie crust. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour or until the top is golden brown.

Note: You can add just about anything to a quiche, but I’m a plain Jane kind of gal. I don’t usually like to mess with a recipe if it tastes fine just the way it is. If you find a delicious variation, please let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

