Standing Before the Throne {Revelation 7}

I love it when God takes a passage you’ve read countless times and makes it jump off the page to paint an incredible picture in your mind. That’s exactly what happened as I was reading Revelation 7 last night.

After this I looked, and behold, a great multitude that no one could number, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands, and crying out with a loud voice, “Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!”
{Revelation 7:9-10}

Can you imagine seeing the grace of God manifested so beautifully before His throne? I can’t wait to worship Him with my siblings from all over the world!

Did you happen to catch that the great multitude is standing? They are STANDING before the throne of God. Their robes have been washed spotless white in the blood of the Lamb and they are therefore saved from God’s wrath. They STAND faultless before His throne because they are standing on the Rock of Christ’s righteousness.

And when before the throne
I stand in Him complete,
“Jesus died, my soul to save,”
My lips shall still repeat. 

We will still be singing the sweet song of salvation as we stand before His throne! The great multitude was waving palm branches, crying out with a loud voice, “Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb.” This is reminiscent of the chilling Triumphal Entry scene in the Gospels, where the people are waving palm branches and crying, “Hosanna,” which means save us. Only now, we have not only been saved from sin and death, but also from pain and suffering in the world!

And when, in scenes of glory, I sing the new, new song,
’Twill be the old, old story that I have loved so long.

I’m convinced the old, old story will be present in the new, new song so we might as well start singing it now. I encourage you to read Revelation 7 today and thank God for His precious gift of salvation.

{I’ll leave you with a glimpse of one nation that will be standing before the throne. This island of the sea, Trinidad, is singing one of my favorites, “Jesus Paid It All.”}

Leave a Reply

