Twelve Extraordinary Women {Book Review}

One of my sweet sisters in Christ, Becky Vance, gave me a book for my birthday that I could not wait to read. I just knew I’d sit down and read it all in one sitting. Well, it’s June now. My birthday was in January. And (*runs and hides*) I may or may not have just now finished the book.

It’s not that it wasn’t a good book. No, not at all. It was an excellent book! You know it’s common for people to say, “That was such a good book…I couldn’t put it down.” I’m the opposite…if it’s a really good book, I don’t want it to be over…which explains why it took me 6 months to read John MacArthur’s “Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You.”

Twelve Extraordinary Women was such a blessing to me because MacArthur used each woman’s life to point to Christ. He didn’t present them in a false light, but made sure to show how God used them in spite of their failures and weaknesses.

Perhaps my favorite “extraordinary woman” he focused on was Sarah, my namesake. She certainly had her faults and shortcomings. According to Genesis 18:12, she even laughed when she heard God’s plan for her to have a son. (I could just see me giggling to myself upon hearing what God plans are for my life.) But after all was said and done, she was remembered for her faith.

“By faith Sarah herself received power to conceive, even when she was past the age, since she considered Him faithful Who had promised.” {Hebrews 11:11}

I long to have the faith of Sarah. I think the more she saw God work in her life and watched Him extend grace to her despite her sinful and selfish heart, the more she began to trust Him. I need to recount the ways the Lord has worked in my life. When I KNOW from experience that He is faithful, I will only trust Him more.

“The most significant women in Scripture were influential not because of their careers, but because of their character…The faithfulness of these women is their true, lasting legacy.” {pg. xvii}

The common thread in these women was their Christ-centeredness. All of them were empty of themselves and let the Spirit of God work through them. They were just ordinary ladies who would have amounted to nothing of any importance by human standards, but when they were wholeheartedly submitted to God, they became extraordinary women. None of them cared to be seen, but remained modest and humble because they knew they weren’t doing great things on their own, but that it was God working in them.

I may not be the most successful businesswoman or the prettiest girl on the block, but by the grace of God, I hope that my life counts for His glory. I want to be faithful in the little things He gives me to do, always serving with joy. I don’t want people to remember Sarah Wainright for who she was, but for the extraordinary things Christ did through her to expand His kingdom and magnify His Name. May my life always be lived to make God famous.

It’s fascinating to think that the same God who used Sarah, Rahab, Ruth, Mary, Anna, and Lydia also seeks to use the ladies of my generation for His glory!

Leave a Reply

