Those who sow in tears…

Confession: I’ve been in a slump lately teaching my kids at church on Wednesday nights. My super teacher mom graciously filled in for me the past couple of weeks to give me a little break. After much prayer, I was ready to get back at it tonight.

And wouldn’t you know, God sent me the sweetest 4 year-old little boy who had never heard of Jesus. What a gift to affirm that returning to teaching was the right thing to do! Watching his face light up was absolutely priceless.

Not only did I get to share the Gospel with him, but all my church-soaked kids threw in their two-cents worth as well. At one point in our little conversation, sweet 5 year-old Landon told the little boy, “God can see you all the time. Anywhere. He can even see through walls.” The little boy thought that was so cool. It’s amazing how much bigger God becomes in my eyes when I hear Him described by a child.

We also got to introduce him to the Bible for the first time. When I told him that the Bible is a love letter from God to us, his face lit up with one of the most “wowed” looks I have ever seen. As he flipped through the pages of the little green Gideon New Testament, he said, “So where’s the letter?” I told him that the whole book is His letter, to which he replied, “Wow! That’s a lot of words!” It made me think that God must really love us a lot to write us a letter that long. It’s so easy to take His Word for granted. This little incident reminded me how special God’s Word truly is…it is something to be treasured.

I’m so thankful for Wednesday nights such as these that remind me introducing children to Jesus is exhilarating. It is my prayer that each and every one of these kids will have “boring” testimonies and will be used to spread God’s kingdom for His glory.

If you’re in a slump, keep going. Keep pushing through. Why?

Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy! {Psalm 126:5}

Leave a Reply

