Sounds of my summer… ♪

Summertime is the best. Roadtrips with friends and family. Picnics. Band camp early in the morning. Swimming at sunset. Late-night Menchie’s runs. I love it all!

Perhaps one of my favorite parts of summer is figuring out what will become my most-played album of the season. This typically happens when my Dad and I travel to South Carolina to see my grandparents. (Last year our favorite was Jars of Clay’s “Long Fall Back to Earth.”)

This year we had a tie. Normally when I buy an album, there will only be about two songs on them that I really end up liking a lot, but in this case there’s not even one song on either of these albums that I don’t like. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve listened to these songs this summer. Ridiculous. I’ve listed my favorites under each album and also put my favorite lyrics from each…

First up is  MercyMe’s “The Generous Mr. Lovewell”

This Life – This song has affectionately become the “Lighthouse” song to one of my students. We volunteered at a homeless ministry one day this summer and this song kept us going. Every moment is a chance to let Your light break through. This life was meant to shine. I live everyday just to make You known. If I’m outta my mind, then it’s all for Christ.

The Generous Mr. Lovewell – My dad basically embodies this song, but it should be true for every Christian. We should love well because we’ve been loved so well.  My loving dad has told me many times to not practice “Random Acts of Kindness,” but rather practice consistent acts of kindness. He wakes up every day the same, Believin’ he’s gonna make a change. Never wonders ‘if’ but ‘when.’ He believes it’s the little things that make a great big change.

Move – If this song doesn’t make you move, I don’t know what will. It’s extremely catchy! Clap along! I just might bend but I won’t break as long as I can see Your face.

Crazy Enough – Call me crazy but what if we learn to love our brother for nothing in return? Oh how the rules would change. Reaching out to the ones who need help, treating them as you first would treat yourself. Now that would be insane.

All of Creation – Beautiful reminder of the Gospel. Captivated but no longer bound by chains, left at an empty grave, the sinner and the sacred resolved.

Beautiful – This is the perfect song to listen to when you’re feeling worthless. You are treasured, you are sacred, you are His. You’re the one He madly loves enough to die.” 

This So Called Love – A lovely melody that serves as a simple reminder that love without Jesus is empty. But if all that we do is absent of Jesus, then this so called love is completely in vain.

Peter Furler’s “On Fire” I grew up listening to Newsboys and was so sad when Peter Furler left the group. This album sounds just like an old Newsboys album and I LOVE it!

I’m Alive” – This is the perfect song to start your day and it just might be my favorite. I just can’t get enough!

Reach– Such good words! You hold the weight of the world, still I don’t slip through Your hands.

Glory to the King” – What a day it will be when I singing around the throne with other sinners who have been redeemed! Peter wrote this song shortly after his grandmother passed away. He portrays such a beautiful image through his lyrics! A sea of voices sing, “Glory to the King, the King of everything.”

Never Ending Love Song” – You gave Your all in our stead, we can never forget.

All in Your Head – Get up, get off your seat, move your feet, just do what He said. And perhaps my dad and I’s favorite phrase on the whole album: a kick of love. The pastor likes that one a lot!

Psalm 23” – This super catchy song would be perfect to listen to while working out. Or while riding in the car with your best friend. Or by yourself. My Filipina sister has rocked out to this song in the passenger seat all summer long…and it’s precious! It has claps on 2 & 4 and it’s straight Scripture…does it get any better than that?!

Greater is He” – One of the first days of my summer was spent riding to Atlanta with my friends to drop them off for a 3-month tour with Drum Corps. As we stood in their driveway at 5:30 in the morning, their dad prayed a Scripture-soaked prayer over them as he told them goodbye. One of the verses he used was 1 John 4:4. He said, “Greater are You who is in Jeremy & Erin than he that is in the world.” Personalizing verses like that make them come so much more alive and that has stuck with me all summer long. We don’t fear the flame, we won’t fear our enemies, and we don’t fear what is to come ’cause the battle’s already been won! Greater is He that is in us than He that is in the world: Christ in us, the hope of Glory. 

Longest post ever? Maybe. But I hope you check these two albums out. They have served my heart well this summer!

Leave a Reply

