Forgotten God {Book Review}

Francis Chan has swept the LCA Band Staff by storm this summer. I had read Crazy Love at the beginning of this year and was very challenged by it, so I was eager to jump on board with the rest of the staff and start reading the sequel during band camp. (Who reads a book during band camp anyways?! That’s proof in and of itself that the Holy Spirit is alive and working!)

In Forgotten God, Chan reminds readers about the importance of the Holy Spirit…the member of the Trinity who is often looked over.

Sadly enough, it is easy to forget that the Spirit of the Living God lives within me. Paul reminds us several times in Scripture, confirming how prone we are to forget. “Hello, Sarah. Did you forget…again…that the Spirit dwells in you?”

“Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?” {1 Corinthians 3:16}

I know the Holy Spirit dwells in me, but transferring that truth from my head to my heart and applying that day-by-day, moment-by-moment is a different story. Every moment of every day, the Spirit lives in me, prompting me to do what is right in God’s holy eyes. Being constantly aware that HE–not me–is the One at work, empowering me to do the right thing, is something I battle all the time.

“If you have received by faith the promise of the Holy Spirit,
you are also His temple.
As you drive your children to school. As you go to work every day.
As you embark on a new, unknown season. As you go to school.
As you face tragedy and pain. As you buy groceries.
As you give of yourself in relationships.
As you walk the dog. As you make decisions.
As you live your life, the Holy Spirit is dwelling in you.”
{
pages 110-111}

When I let that person over in traffic, the Spirit is working in me.  When I leave a generous tip to the crummy waiter, the Spirit is working in me. When I take a step way out of my comfort zone to feed the homeless, the Spirit is working in me. When I initiate Gospel-centered conversation, the Spirit is working in me. When I let the Mom with a cart-full of groceries and 5 screaming kids cut in front of me at Kroger, that’s most definitely the Spirit working in me.

The Holy Spirit is who clothes me with power to do what is right. Anything good that I do is initiated by the Spirit living within me.

“I don’t want my life to be explainable without the Holy Spirit.
I want people to look at my life and know that I couldn’t be doing this by my own power.
I want to live in such a way that I am desperate for Him to come through.
That if He doesn’t come through, I am screwed.
(I probably shouldn’t write that word here, but it’s how I truly feel about this.)”
{
page 142

The Forgotten God used Francis Chan’s Forgotten God to serve my soul well. I was humbly reminded that there’s nothing amazing about Sarah Caroline Wainright in and of herself. I’m just a girl living an ordinary life with Someone extraordinary shining through me. May my actions always be unexplainable apart from the Holy Spirit.

I hope the Spirit leads you to pick up a copy!

Leave a Reply

