Happy Fall = Pumpkin Spice Latte {Recipe}

Autumn arrived in Kentucky last week, but then summer came back for a visit. It happens every year. I break out the sweaters, bring out the pumpkins, and get used to ordering warm beverages at Starbucks…and then one week later it’s 100* outside again. But that doesn’t keep me from staying in a fall mood.

Fall just makes me crave warm beverages…especially from Starbucks. My obsession with Starbucks is so well known that multiple friends texted me last week to let me know they thought of me while drinking their pumpkin spice lattes. I don’t know whether I should be flattered or ashamed. Pumpkin spice lattes with pumpkin cream cheese muffins were my obsession pre-diabetes. But now since I’m type 1 diabetic, it would be foolish for me to splurge 49 carbs on a beverage. So, I’ve had to learn to be creative.

Thanks to Pinterest for introducing me to this delicious Starbucks knockoff, found in its original form at the kitchn. I can tweak the sugar and not have to drink it all at once when I make it at home. (Not to mention, save about $4 or so!) Happy Fall!

Pumpkin Spice Latte
makes at least 2 servings

Ingredients:
2 cups milk
2 tablespoons canned pumpkin
2 tablespoons sugar or sugar substitute – I halved this amount, but would probably cut back even more…
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1-2 shots espresso (about 1/4 cup of espresso or 1/2 cup of strong brewed coffee if you don’t have an espresso machine)

Directions:
In a saucepan combine milk, pumpkin and sugar and cook on medium heat, stirring, until steaming. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla and spice, transfer to a blender and process for 15 seconds until foamy. If you don’t have a blender, don’t worry about it – just whisk the mixture really well with a wire whisk.

Pour into a large mug or two mugs. Add the espresso on top.

Originally, this recipe said whipped cream was optional. In my book, it’s required. So, top with a generous amount of whipped, sprinkle cinnamon on top, and enjoy!

Coming next: an easy-peasy recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip muffins!

One thought on “Happy Fall = Pumpkin Spice Latte {Recipe}

  1. Pingback: one thousand gifts {#241-295} | Sarah Caroline

Leave a Reply

