one thousand gifts {#439-487}

“But I will sing of Your strength;
I will sing aloud of Your steadfast love in the morning.
For You have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.
O my Strength, I will sing praises to You,
for You, O God, are my fortress,
the God who shows me steadfast love.”

{Psalm 59:16-17}

The Lord has once again been faithful in showing me His unchanging, steadfast love in so many different ways. Even when I’m so unlovable and half-hearted, His steadfast love never ceases and His mercies never come to an end. Here’s just a few of the grace-gifts He’s blessed me with over the past week. I realize this list probably looks like absolute nonsense to everyone else besides me, but maybe it will inspire you to start your own list of ways He’s blessed you!

{452}

439. flexible bosses who allow me to work from home when possible and necessary
440. grace given when requested
441. strength for the moment
442. low blood sugars with a starbucks nearby
443. texts from friends just to say hi
444. learning how to tango. ha.
445. painting new sets of closer drill
446. sadie wanting to play duets even after her lesson was over…so we played 3.
447. praying for friends and myself to count it ALL joy. {james 1:2}
448. peace found in silence
449. beans & cornbread for dinner
450. no condemnation because i’m in Christ Jesus!
451. laughs at election training #10
452. downtown lexington at night when the courthouse fountains are running
453. trying new foods (boiled apple) while picking up a new friend for work
454. a desk full of new office supplies
455. gray knit comfiest sweater ever
456. productivity
457. clinique bonus. more mascara. more dramatically different. more 7-day scrub cream. *sigh*
458. piper sermons streaming from the boss’s office.
459. white chicken chili + cornbread = yum
460. confident contrition {micah 7:7-9}
461. aunt janna texts in the morning
462. singing of His steadfast love in the morning {psalm 59}
463. relaxing on my couch with a movie
464. changing diapers by the light of the Word (aka: Mark 2 on an iPad since the transformer blew)
465. singing with babies
466. starjazz after a long day…best mocha frappuccino i had ever had
467. watching my mom do what she does best: make music with children
468. ham & apple quiche from le matin
469. haircuts and losing 5 lbs since i got it thinned out. 🙂
470. church stuff. done. on friday night. boom.
471. reading old journals, recounting God’s faithfulness {deuteronomy 32:3-4, 7}…and being scared to death after reading some of the prayers i wrote down!
472. saturday mornings at the farmer’s market: honeycrisp apples, new potatoes, out-of-tune violins, being called by name
473. surprising aunt janna with a crepe and diet coke at the paint store
474. trees getting dressed for autumn
475. andrew peterson with windows down, driving country curves

A spiderweb declares the glory of God at our church picnic.

476. horses, sunsets, fences, barns, hay, cobwebs, corn stalks, pumpkins, bonfire, marshmallows, fried chicken, and peach cobbler

My Uncle Mike singing in the sunset at our church picnic.

477. uncle mike talking about OCD sandwich-making and questioning my apple/peanut butter plate presentation
478. breakfast made by dad and shared with uncle mike
479. helen’s chocolate chip banana bread over esther in sunday school
480. dad kicking off a new book (Luke), and wondering how long it will take him to get through this one!
481. two waiting for baptism, two praying about it, two coming forward with questions about salvation, and two professions of faith!
482. ethan and conner becoming brothers in Christ. psalm 78:5-7 on display. may they both do great things for the kingdom of God!
483. seeing friends unexpectedly
484. new sweaters. that are yellow!
485. pumpkin spice decaf & noel piper on psalm 46
486. grace to trust Him more.

487. having to add to my list after finishing it for the week…gift #487…hearing my mom and grandmother sing “Love Lifted Me” together at bedtime.

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

{previous gifts: #1-181, #182-240, #241-295, 296-362, 363-438}

4 thoughts on “one thousand gifts {#439-487}

  1. Pingback: one thousand gifts {#487-540} | Sarah Caroline

  2. Pingback: one thousand gifts {#541-601} | Sarah Caroline

  3. Pingback: one thousand gifts {#541-601} | Sarah Caroline

  4. Pingback: one thousand gifts {#602-653} | Sarah Caroline

Leave a Reply

