Lessons Learned from the Longest Saturday Ever

I just now found this post I had written forever ago and realized I never published it. Oops! So many hilarious memories from May 21. 

I knew full well that Saturday, May 21 would be a long day. But it wasn’t until the Thursday before that I knew how long it would be. I had agreed to ride along with a couple of friends to Georgia to drop them off at drum corps for the summer and keep their mom company on the way back. After hearing my friend and her mom needed a ride to the airport at 4:00 in the morning to catch their flight to Hawaii, I decided to make it a full day of shipping people places. I learned a lot that day…

  • There’s a first time for everything, like pressing your snooze to sleep in until 3:15 a.m.
  • If you’re trying to get out of the airport parking lot at 4:30 a.m., there’s a good chance it might take you a while because you’ll need to wake up the parking attendant.
  • If you need an hour to kill at 4:30 in the morning, it might seem like a good idea to stop at the Palomar McDonald’s since their drive-thru is open 24 hours and their lobby opens at 5:00 a.m. But beware, they might pull a prank on you. Maybe something like yelling out the speaker at 4:59 as you drive through saying, “I sorry we close.”
  • In the event that this happens, don’t worry. Just drive around for 2 minutes and then drive back through. They’ll say, “Good morning, we open, may I take your order?” And then they’ll hand you your cup of coffee with a sheepish grin.
  • If you’re ever in need of overalls or quilts, look no further than the clotheslines of Nowheresville, Georgia.
  • I always thought Georgia was the Peach State, but according to what I saw, it needs to be renamed the Apple State. The only peaches I saw were on the state signs.
  • If you ever decide to farm and sell tomatoes, be sure to put “Good Tasting” on the sign. I saw at least two farmers with “Good Tasting Tomatoes” for sale.
  • Only the Father knows the hour. Not Harold Camping or the cashier at Arby’s who ever-so-kindly warned us about the earthquake coming at 6:00.
  • Watch out for random objects in the middle of the interstate, such as ladders.
  • Always stop to get gas when the Holy Spirit prompts you. You might end up in a traffic jam for an hour and a half.
  • Consider yourself blessed if you’re surrounded by these as you sit in the traffic jam. They only come around every 13 years.
  • Nineteen-hour days are doable with the grace of God and lots of coffee.
Leave a Reply

