Faithful to Provide {Thoughts from Mark 8}

From The Jesus Storybook Bible, illustrated by Jago

Some of my scattered thoughts after reading Mark 8 last night…

Lord, You are the great Provider. Jehovah Jireh, You never fail to meet my needs just as You have met the needs of countless billions throughout history.

You know just what I need and even when I don’t express my needs to You, You provide for them anyway. You used what the disciples had to meet their needs and the needs of thousands of others. You took what they had to give and made it so much more. Help me remember that when I give myself and my resources to You, You can do much greater works than I could ever even imagine. Even if it is something seemingly insignificant, You can make it into something MAGnificent!

“And they ate and were satisfied. And they took up the broken pieces left over, seven baskets full.” {Mark 8:8}

You took a meal of seven loaves and a few small fish for the disciples and made it into a meal for 4,000 people…with leftovers. When Your hand blesses little things, they exceed their potential and Your glory shines through.

“Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think…” {Ephesians 3:20}

Thank You for going above and beyond to meet needs, doing far more than I could imagine.

“Now they had forgotten to bring bread, and they had only one loaf with them in the boat…And they began discussing with one another the fact that they had no bread. And Jesus, aware of this, said to them, ‘Why are you discussing the fact that you have no bread? …Do you not remember?'” {excerpts from Mark 8:14-21}

Help me remember Your faithfulness to provide, unlike the disciples who were so quick to forget.

May I be quick to count Your blessings and thank You for them. And may each occasion be stored in my treasure box of Your grace gifts, reminding me of Your faithfulness in the past so I can build my faith in You and count on Your faithfulness to provide in the future.

“For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake and the Gospel’s will save it. For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul?” {Mark 8:35-36}

Oh just think of what He could do with it ALL.

Leave a Reply

