one thousand gifts {#487-540}

“My mouth will praise You with joyful lips,
when I remember You upon my bed,
and meditate on You in the watches of the night;
for You have been my help,
and in the shadow of Your wings I will sing for joy.”

{Psalm 63:5-7}

One evening this week, I was just getting ready to turn out my light and call it a night when I read the above verse. I typically write down my grace-gifts when I crawl in bed, right before I read my Bible. I can’t think of a better way to end the day. When you go to bed this evening, try to recall little gifts God has blessed you with throughout the day. I assure you He will become bigger and even more beautiful in your eyes and you will sleep very well. Try it! 

487 (b). baby pumpkins
488. successfully working a security system with no police
489. hard eucharisteo: thanking God for being at work in some not-so-pleasant trials in others’ lives
490. french onion soup to soothe a sore throat
491. compliments
492. “jibber jabber…frying pan…jibber jabber…” the humor you can find in granny’s crazy days. :o)
493. it is well with my soul ♪
494. honeycrisp apples + peanut butter on a desert rose dessert plate
495. working the creative side of my brain to monogram and decorate my pumpkin


496. laughing with bosses, coworks, students…all friends
497. xoxo…lol!
498. giving people rides. blessed to have a car.
499. the strong and perfect plea i have before God’s throne because of the Great High Priest’s love
500. new computers with keyboards that sound like popcorn
501. the promise that God always works in the little things {1 corinthians 1:27-31}
502. no macaroni and cheese…for the best
503. rachmaninoff
504. naps with puppies at my feet to keep me warm
505. pearls
506. hard eucharisteo: spilling coffee
507. a new yellow sweater to brighten up such a dark, rainy day
508. vampire cannula (my first…note: that link is not for the weak of heart or stomach) before work instead of at work
509. cincinnati-style chili for lunch at the bob brown house board meeting
510. chivalrous sherwin-williams employees who carry paint cans to the car
511. being freed from the house a little in the afternoon
512. changing parts in the ballad to change timbre completely…and it all fades to a flag ripply sound. LOVE! chills! MORE!
513. dreading a sour cream kroger run, but God blessed me with my favorite cashier i hardly ever get to see anymore
514. a lunch that = kids meal at fazoli’s by myself, serenaded by frank sinatra, and the girl let me upgrade my drink for free
515. talking about food with the boss: “a girl’s gotta eat.”
516. staff dinners over mexican food and plans to open a seasonal business where halloween express is
517. seeing old band kids
518. pumpkin + pecans + cheesecake + chocolate chips + one brownie bite at menchie’s. uh-maz-ing.
519. mysterious hamster stories (and mice…squeakers)
520. staff polos. oversized. jazzed up.


521. seeing family out of context!
522. mr. beech. soup. flowers. teeth. lifting. the best.
523. being announced as a finalist!
524. white plumes at twilight
525. everything clicking
526. railroad tracks painted in the sky! ♥

527. eating and laughing with former rivals
528. bean soup
529. hot chocolate by the trailer
530. smiling during the whole show—because that’s all you know to do
531. a hidden apple when a low blood sugar of 62 hits on the bus ride home
532. lots and lots of laughter
533. going to sleep with a train echoing outside
534. squirrels that decide to move out of the way of my car
535. a full car on the way to church
536. naps that make everything better
537. stories i’ve read OVER and OVER seen in a new light {luke 1:5-25}
538. a compassionate sister
539. the Lord fights for me! {deuteronomy 20}
540. spontaneous starbucks with dad on the way to church

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

{previous gifts: #1-181, #182-240, #241-295, 296-362, 363-438, 439-487}

3 thoughts on “one thousand gifts {#487-540}

  1. Pingback: one thousand gifts {#541-601} | Sarah Caroline

  2. Pingback: one thousand gifts {#541-601} | Sarah Caroline

  3. Pingback: one thousand gifts {#602-653} | Sarah Caroline

Leave a Reply

