Growing Every Day.

And the child grew and became strong in spirit…
{luke 1:80}

I made a hospital visit with a friend yesterday and her 11 year-old son came with us. One of their family members at the hospital started gushing over the boy. “Oh, you’re growing so much!”

I always hated it when people told me that. Yes, I’m growing. Would you like to measure me? What else is a kid supposed to do? Shrink? Would you comment if I was shrinking? But yesterday, it triggered a different kind of response in my head.

Yesterday morning, my dad’s text was Luke 1 about the birth of John the Baptist. Near the end of his sermon, he had us look at verse 80, which tells us that John the Baptist grew and became strong in spirit. Then he made this remark…

Think of how you can grow spiritually today…not tomorrow.
If you’re not growing spiritually today, you’re in a backsliding state.

What if someone told me, “You’re growing…spiritually!” That would be so nice to hear! But that doesn’t just happen overnight. Sanctification is a gradual process, one that continues day-to-day, and you must be actively fighting to GROW!

This past week was a really busy one for me. I had been doing really well keeping up with my Bible reading plan I started at the beginning of the year (the 10 chapters a day one…found here…and I highly recommend it). Where my week was so busy, I pushed my quiet time to the back burner. Shouldn’t that be the last thing I let go? By the end of the week, I could tell that I was spiritually starving.

Once I actually pick up my Bible and open it, I’m good to go. But sometimes when you’re tired, getting that to happen is difficult. I prayed about it…nothing elaborate, but God gave me the grace to open it. And then He kept pouring out grace as I read. He always reveals so much truth to me when I read after I’ve been stubborn about it. What grace!

Soaking yourself in the Word is one of the key ingredients to growing. I let myself shrink a little last week, but by the grace of God, I will grow this week. Kind of reminds me of that fun kids’ song, “Read your Bible, pray every day, pray every day, pray every day…and you’ll grow, grow, grow.”

May we each be diligent students of the Word and grow, grow, GROW! And who knows, maybe someone will notice and say, “Oh, you’re growing!”

Like newborn infants, long for the pure spiritual milk,
that by it you may grow up into salvation—
if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is good.
But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who have faith and preserve their souls.
{1 peter 2:2-3 + hebrews 10:39}

Leave a Reply

