one thousand gifts {#703-751}

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits.”
{psalm 103:2} 

A couple of days this week, I was so tired that I forgot to write down gifts. Recalling them the next day is so much harder!  It felt like so much was missing, but served as a good reminder that I need to recall what God has done to prove His love for me every day, lest I forget.

703. eight-hour work days
704. learning about new technology
705. finding humor in a not-so-fun situation
706. full on hugs. (this one in particular from my flute student sadie. she missed me!)
707. confessing that the sonata i was playing at my piano lesson was definitely not the one that i practiced.
708. alistair begg with reminders i needed to hear {psalm 37:4} and “the Lord is not slack in keeping His promise”
709. a 4:30 a.m. wake-up time
710. entering and leaving work in the dark
711. hilarity that ensues in our precinct
712. little old ladies who look like nancy reagan (big red glasses and all) bringing beer cheese and pretzels to us when she voted
713. seeing neighbors i never see
714. meeting friendly new neighbors
715. getting pelted  with a piece of paper by a frustrated old man. at least it was a piece of paper.
716. chicken ‘n dumplins with church family around the table!
717. coffee during christmas cantata practice
718. sleep!
719. affirmation.
720. productivity in monotony
721. anticipation.
722. good news from dear friends
723. much-needed naps
724. blood sugar of 80!
725. preaching the Gospel to myself on my morning commute and singing rich hymns such as “Jesus Paid It All”
726. “Hot Cross Buns” played beautifully by table #1
727. flexible bosses
728. path cleared on new circle = answered prayer
729. denim skirts & gray tights & sweaters. warmth.
730. drawing names for christmas presents at the Bob Brown House
731. hard eucharisteo: not getting memos & running into people.
732. grace to hold back tears & the grace to let them fall.
733. the wonderful feeling a friday morning brings
734. spurgeon
735. a boost of confidence.
736. being amazed at innovation
737. froyo with erin & rejuvenating laughter
738. grace to give a genuine smile
739. hot apple cider from a thermos and crepes in the cold with woodwinds class of 2009


740. catch phrase in the parking garage in david’s car
741. highs & lows
742. new car air fresheners + new gloves
743. buying plane tickets.
744. hard eucharisteo: never understanding the way a certain individual thinks
745. finally getting haman hanged in sunday school. and also being encouraged while studying about esther’s gutsy confrontation
746. hearing how the covenant has been kept. luke 1.
747. a simple sunday dinner at home
748. hospital visits that always encourage me more than the patient
749. feeling anxious
750. afternoon homemade peppermint mocha
751. seeing the holiness of God in the Old Testament

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

Leave a Reply

