one thousand gifts {#908-945}

“‎Let them thank the Lord for His steadfast love,
for His wondrous works to the children of man!
For He satisfies the longing soul,
and the hungry soul He fills with good things.”

{Psalm 107:8-9}

Is your soul hungry? My soul was hungry this week. There were a couple of days I forgot to write down my grace-gifts. And that left me feeling very empty. When I didn’t take the time to thank the Lord for His steadfast love, for His wondrous works, and for the good things He’d filled my life with, I felt as if I was starving. When you reflect on what God the countless and sometimes obscure ways God has shown you grace throughout the day and actually take time to write them down, it’s like getting a second helping. As you write them down, you relive those beautiful moments of grace He’s showered you with. 

May I challenge you this week to jot down little ways God has blessed you? It’s like eating leftovers! (And we all know that leftovers taste way better than the original meal.)

Closing in on my first one-thousand, here are a few more ways God has proved the wonders of His love to me this week.


908. spinning Christmas trees at work that spread Christmas cheer
909. resolve.
910. sweet texts
911. funnies from students (surprisingly, the relative major of g minor is not M)
912. finding joy in gratitude
913. lots of laughs with erin over menchie’s. geraldine & francine.
914. dad letting me borrow bublé!
915. being reminded that the Lord is in control, sovereign over all, and working everything together for our good! {romans 8:28}
916. wearing red in december.
917. 2 backup pods and hugs from a diabetes educator who cares
918. good blood sugars
919. sitting with a former teacher turned great friend
920. a rendition of “o holy night” that gave me chills the whole time
921. watching kids make music. oh that cowbell.
922. heart-to-hearts with students about how the Lord is working in their life.
923. snow all over me as i left work
924. little old ladies at the post office whom i aspire to be when i get old
925. wrapping christmas presents


926. singing “santa clause is coming to town” with granny
927. when the whipped cream comes out just right


928. new salads!
929. delighting in the Lord, the One who satisfies.
930. hugs from little girls almost in tears because it’s our last music class.
931. wonders of His love that bring much joy
932. a free night consisting of vegetable soup, cornbread, & UK Hoops beating Duke!
933. granny throwing a pillow at me full force (LOL!)
934. an absolutely gorgeous day
935. mailing a card
936. eating leftovers for lunch
937. anticipation
938. brunch at the bob brown house with dad
939. trying on ugly fur vests for little old ladies shopping for their out-of-state daughter in stein mart
940. cheering for the cats.
941. practicing piano christmas duets with mom at midnight
942. being reminded i am a great sinner, Christ is a greater Savior, and His grace is cause for much rejoicing!
943. panera with mom and helen
944. singing at the veteran’s center. wow! what a blessing to worship with those who have sacrificed so much for my freedom.


945. caffeine in the form of a peppermint mocha

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

Leave a Reply

