one thousand gifts {#1336-1379}

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord,
“My refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.” 

{Psalm 91:1-2}

My beautiful old Kentucky home was hit hard by tornadoes this past Friday. A lot of anxious hearts became even more anxious once the word spread that Jim Cantore was in town. That’s never a good sign. In the midst of all the hype and scary clouds, one of my friends posted Psalm 91:1-2 on her Facebook. It took up residence in my heart and wouldn’t let go the rest of the day. When you know that the Maker of the storm holds you in the palm of His hand, how can you be afraid? Counting the many ways He blesses me has helped strengthen my trust in Him. 

The Lord placed His protective hand over Lexington, for which I am very grateful. Some of my neighbors were not so fortunate. Twenty people died in my state and many lives have been dramatically changed after such devastation. Please join me in praying for these precious people who have lost loved ones and every comfort of calling a place home. May God comfort them, give them peace, and show them His great love.

1336. feeling pretty rested
1337. listening to a plethora of music at work
1338. ♪ His blood can make the foulest clean, His blood availed for me! ♪
1339. Drake’s sandwich + tater tots for lunch
1340. funny conversations with sadie-sue
1341. prolonged battery life
1342. finishing a product!
1343. kind words of encouragement: “don’t break a nail!”
1344. catching up with shanna over a loooong phone chat…just like old times!
1345. crazy bad breath from that crazy good garlic sauce from oasis
1346. laughing hysterically over menchie’s with erin
1347. a day that comes only once every 4 years. gift.
1348. breakfast at the lunchbox with the ever hilarious and encouraging ashley parks
“I can hear John Piper talking in my head.”
“What’s he saying?”
“I can’t understand him.”
“Is he speaking in tongues?”
“Maybe. I must not be filled with the Spirit enough.”
1349. “Sarah broke it again.”
1350. being creative for the glory of God
1351. somewhat self-controlled kids. the Gospel did go forth!
1352. ||: God is sovereign over every single minute of my day. :|| Preaching that to myself over and over and thankful that it’s true.
1353. those who are flexible with my crazy life
1354. a davis dunk

I went to the UK vs. Georgia game where Kentucky scored 15 three's! Crazy!

1355. moments of hilarity when you cannot laugh
1356. a friend helping stranded college girls
1357. being reminded of the beauty of the Gospel
1358. riding over sidewalks
1359. social media on a crazy tornado weather day
1360. going home early to stay safe
1361. {PSALM 91}
1362. doorbell ringing amongst tornado sirens—our dear brother roger with dinner
1363. being safe in His arms.
1364. 15 years ♥
1365. finally wearing a necklace i got a year ago
1366. seeing family, church friends, and band people all at the same event. worlds colliding!
1367. beautiful sounds and a bag of m&m’s.

LCA Percussion Ensemble warms up at Bryan Station before taking 1st place with a 75.6!

1368. a judge asking me if i was calling him fat.
1369. walking all over LCA to find an open door and eventually having to gracefully ninja into the pitch black chapel during the play to find mrs. b and borrow her key fob
1370. awkward moments
1371. an instructor with his nose buried in his scoresheet lets out a sigh and says maaaan, then looks up, eyes widen and then says, “Ohhhh I am so sorry. I thought you were my wife.” then the wife walks up and has straight auburn hair.
1372. almost running a stoplight because i was so taken by verse 3 of “it is well”
1373. {hard eucharisteo} learning to say no.
1374. snow dancing around me
1375. {isaiah 1:18}
1376. finding granny jamming to toby mac
1377. seussical at LCA with mom
1378. i am graced.
1379. grace out of a church bulletin mistake

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

Leave a Reply

