He’s Been There {Thoughts from a PK on Year #15}

For He has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”
{Hebrews 13:5

It’s hard to believe that my church celebrated our fifteenth anniversary yesterday. I was nine years old when New Life Baptist Church was organized and was the second believer baptized into our fellowship. Growing up as a PK has been an absolute privilege I wouldn’t trade for anything. God has taught me so much through this experience and if there’s one theme that consistently rings true it’s this: He is faithful and will always be there.

He was there when the scary spider was floating in the murky green baptismal waters.

He was there when believers gathered in my living room every Thursday night.

He was there when we had our first Sunday morning service on a cold January morning in the Rileys’ living room. (And so was their pet Pekingese, Cocoa.)

He was there when Bro. Randy would faithfully come to our house every Sunday morning to help my dad transport the keyboard to our hotel conference room.

He was there when I rode squished in the backseat under said keyboard.

He was there when I made my first bulletin.

He was there when we copied bulletins on the ginormous copier in our dining room, which sat perpendicular to the church keyboard, which sat next to our real piano. Oh, and there was of course our dining room table and six chairs in there too since it was the dining room.

He was there when there were only 5 of us for Sunday Evening service.

He was there when we had to pull out extra chairs for Sunday Morning service.

He was there when I was first learning how to take notes during a sermon.

He was there when we voted to move to a tiny tiny tiny storefront in Idle Hour that only had one bathroom.

He was there when He immensely blessed us at that tiny tiny tiny storefront in big big big ways.

He was there when a cat was stuck in the sanctuary ceiling. (We were right next to a pet salon at one time.)

He was there the first time I tried to play my flute during service when I was in sixth grade and a rod popped out and it wouldn’t make a sound.

He was there when a visitor tried to light up a cigarette in the middle of service.

He was there when same visitor suggested (in the middle of service) that one of our members with cancer try marijuana as a cure.

He was there when I had Sunday School in the continental breakfast room at Best Western.

He was there when I had Sunday School in the Mailroom.

He was there when I had Sunday School by the dumpsters.

He was there when I had Sunday School behind a little wall divider.

He was there when I had Sunday School in an actual Sunday School room with a pole right in the middle of the room.

He was there when I had Sunday School in an actual Sunday School room with no pole in the middle of the room!

He was there when I had Sunday School behind folding doors.

He was there when we moved to Woodhill.

He was there when we’ve had countless missionaries and pastors over for Sunday dinner.

He was there when the grape juice had stayed in the fridge a little too long before communion.

He was there when we had our own baby boom, living up to a different sense of our name.

He was there when my heart was missing Trinidad and a Jamaican walked in.

He was there when the Congolese started coming and we found a French translator who also “happened” to speak Swahili.

He was there when my best friends left because the Lord was leading them elsewhere.

He was there the first time I ever played the piano during service.

He was there while I attempted to learn how to play the organ.

He was there at the nursing home ministry we had every third Saturday for years.

He was there as we ministered to veterans every second Sunday afternoon.

He was there when we fed hundreds of our neighbors and gave them the Gospel on Tuesdays throughout the summer.

He was there when we threw an emergency baby shower for a quick adoption.

He was there on the many occasions my heart was pierced by the Word.

He was there when we planned a wedding in two weeks for our friends from Nepal.

He was there when we had a baptism in a hot tub for a paraplegic.

He was there during my frequent fights with the church copier.

He was there when my friend from the Philippines brought a friend from Nepal who had never heard the story of Jesus.

He was there when the Gospel was faithfully proclaimed during every service.

He was there when my Wednesday night kids class was busting at the seams.

He was there when I only had one kid in my Wednesday night class.

He was there even when I felt all alone.

He was there when we celebrated fifteen years of His continued faithfulness.

He was there…in every single memory I have, which are too many too list. He’s still here. He will no-not-never leave me. He will no-not-never forsake me. He will always be there.

 

[You can read some of our church history here and be sure to watch our 15th Anniversary Slideshow to be embarrassed reminisce.]
5 thoughts on “He’s Been There {Thoughts from a PK on Year #15}

  1. Wow- wish we were closer to be a part of all of that- however, I do remember visiting one Sunday when you were in a new space- must have been 12 years ago or so- hummm, sounds like time for a visit. Hey I sent you a package the other day but obviously don’t have the right address since it came back- looks like I need to update my address book and try again.

Leave a Reply

