one thousand gifts {#1516-1571}

“For the Lord of hosts has purposed,
and who will annul it?
His hand is stretched out,
and who will turn it back?”

{Isaiah 14:27}

I’ve been reminded this week that God’s purposes are so complex, but always working for the good of those who love Him and are called by Him. There’s so many ways He’s showing us grace that we will never see this side of Heaven. But with every grace that we do see, may we give thanks. 

1516. dewdrops on dogwood petals at dawn


1517. “sweet caroline” playing as i walked into pad thai to get lunch
1518. spontaneously meeting kristen in the town of george for frickles at fava’s! (frickles with pickles!)
1519. kentucky sunsets peppered with horses behind fences and rock walls


1520. a kind word from a long-lost friend. so encouraging!
1521. dad getting my oil changed and a bonus carwash + bringing me starbucks to work and loving me so well.
1522. ramsey’s buffalo chicken salad with blue cheese dressing
1523. being both refreshed and convicted at Bible study, reminded that to become secure in trusting God’s control, you must be in His Word!
1524. interacting with people
1525. blogging to sink truth into my heart
1526. a light bulb in kids class for me: to be obedient, you must listen
1527. little kids singing W-I-S-D-O-M…even if they were out of control. THAT was cute.
1528. obedience is better than sacrifice
1529. {hard eucharisteo} they’re there.
1530. avocados
1531. {hard eucharisteo} finding His mercy in a morning high blood sugar
1532. being real. because i am complete in Christ!
1533. students who have obviously practiced!
1534. motivation: brownies AND vacuumed the car!
1535. running into pattie at meijer
1536. kind drive-thru employees
1537. sweet sweet percussion kids, beautiful music, fun chats, and triple hugs. 🙂
1538. more cowbell?! -oh jared.
1539. walking past menchie’s…and other hysterical moments with erin (midget widgets for opus in oipa)
1540. God placing friends in my path that i don’t often see
1541. being super early and awake
1542. getting to work on missions stuff!
1543. belle’s pimento cheese
1544. saul good burgers and passion play #4 with charla
1545. a busted chin from my car door
1546. ♪ He took my sins and my sorrows and made them His very own! ♪
1547. gorgeous runthroughs early in the morning!


1548. safe travels on I-75 N&S
1549. kind friends willing to ride with me to navigate and keep me awake
1550. “sarah…tissue!”
1551. freezing outside next to warm caribbean sounds of steel pan (over rachmaninov)


1552. hugs from an old friend
1553. gold medals!!!! love those kids so very very much.


1554. being a packmule.
1555. gentlemanly seventh-graders
1556. “you’re the best assistant director ever” (those kids are just too kind)
1557. carnations (with blue ribbons) that smell like carrots
1558. hearing lily cheer “go big blue” and say “birds don’t have teeth!”
1559. presenting erin with her midget widget


1560. watching TCIE load with mrs. beech—so entertaining! “i found an extension cord.” lol!
1561. catching an open mcdonald’s drive thru at the last minute for some caffeine
1562. unloading the trailer at LCA at 1:08 a.m. with the sweetest, most dedicated parents ever
1563. “10,000 reasons” coming on the radio on my way home. still singing even past the evening! 🙂
1564. oh yeah. a cats win over louisville in the final four!!!! (and getting minutely text updates from my cousin in texas)
1565. Lord, you are so wonderful. my heart overflows with gratitude in ways words could never express ♥
1566. the grace of God keeping my eyeballs open and opening my spiritual eyes as well.
1567. the beauty of the simplicity of the Gospel…one day He died for me!
1568. a most-delicious sunday dinner with the sledds and thompsons
1569. a glorrrrrious sunday afternoon nap!
1570. a convicting adrian rogers sermon heard twice this weekend. {listen for yourself?}
1571. meeting baby alex and holding him for the first time. so sweet—those lips!

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

Leave a Reply

