one thousand gifts {#1572-1612}

“Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er;
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
Oh, for grace to trust Him more!”

{from “‘Tis So Sweet” by Louisa Stead & William J. Kirkpatrick}

I’ve been reminded in at least four different sermons over the past week that to trust God, you have to know Him. This is something God has been teaching me for about a year now. {Insert shameless plug for “Wimpy Theology Makes Wimpy Women” post}

With every gift God gives me, I learn to trust Him more. Recounting His gifts, which really is recounting His faithfulness, goodness, and love, leads me to trust His character and sovereign hand. ‘Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus…just to take Him at His Word.

1572. eating bella notte by myself—kind of freeing and nice, but still weird.


1573. being in a sappy mood. ♪ i will be here ♪
1574. dropping blueberries on aisle 3 in aldi
1575. watching a presentation of BFM history
1576. “victory in Jesus”
1577. number 8!!!! a gr8 night to be a wildcat.


1578. two trumpets playing the fight song in my neighborhood
1579. iced coffee and gaithers
1580. seeing dear friends and missing others
1581. introducing shanna to a new drink
1582. embracing the future of BFM
1583. paul hatcher’s message…perfect mix of encouraging and convicting
1584. continuous texts from dad with play-by-plays from the conference
1585. josie’s with sweet ashley, my onesiphorous
1586. lunch with kerry. kroger aisle 15.
1587. God’s Word is sufficient
1588. having a lady ask me to play at her funeral
1589. a smiling old lady behind me on my way to work
1590. an excursion to UK
1591. hysterical moments few can understand
1592. a kind and patient friend willing to edit video
1593. ♪ carol ann ♪
1594. a phonograph
1595. sweet and hilarious little cousins for dinner
1596. debates about noah and watching said little cousins dig into Scripture! ♥


1597. hearing granny and mom sing “in the garden” at bedtime
1598. {isaiah 53}
1599. a meat salesman in my living room telling me that a ribeye is the cadillac of the cow
1600. bowtie alfredo, ghetto bread, italian chicken, and salad with chocolate-covered strawberries for dinner with kerry, followed by pride & prejudice!


1601. dad making breakfast
1602. $139 dress for $24.99
1603. a haircut…ahhh. so light. so free.
1604. tapatio with shanna and free guacamole
1605. He lives!
1606. {1 corinthians 15:17}
1607. witty sunday school ladies
1608. to trust Him more, you  have to know Him more…reminded of that OVER and OVER in the past year.
1609. a most delightful easter lunch with cousins and the hatchers


1610. starting joshua 1 and being reminded of the power of God’s Word
1611. easter jazz


1612. sweet potato fries from smashburger. yum.

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

Leave a Reply

