Be Still and Know {Psalm 46:10}

“Be still, and know that I am God.”
{Psalm 46:10}

It’s so hard for me to “be still.” I always like to be going and doing–keeping my mind occupied with lots of things–especially if I’m in the middle of an uncertain situation. But you can only run for so long. At some point, God shouts, “Be still,” and He makes me be still.

And yet once I’m still, there’s still one thing He wants me to do…the most important thing I can do: KNOW that He is God. I have to feed myself that truth while I *patiently* wait.

I have to KNOW that God is sovereign over all, that His ways are higher than my ways, that His timing is best, and that He will always provide. I have to KNOW that He’s the One who created me so He knows exactly what I need. I have to KNOW that He is working every single detail in my life together for my good. I have to KNOW that He is faithful.

I have to KNOW that God is my refuge, strength, and very present help in trouble. I have to KNOW that even if the earth gives way and the mountains crash into the sea, He is still God and He is still with me.

When I take time to be still and rest in the knowledge of who God is, my heart will be stilled and He will be exalted. 

“The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”
{Exodus 14:14}

{via Pinterest}

Leave a Reply

