My Dinner with Louie Giglio {Psalm 37}

Tonight I ate dinner by myself. Anyone who knows me well at all knows that this is one of my least favorite things to do because food always tastes so much better when it is shared with a friend. As I sat down with my enormous, perfectly crispy piece of Josie’s fried chicken with a side of gravy, green beans, whipped sweet potatoes (and a complimentary iced tea), I began to drift into a pity party. Thank Heavens I caught myself.

By the grace of God, instead of having dinner by myself, I had dinner with Louie Giglio.

I’ve been listening to his Boy Meets Girl series over the past few days and decided to listen to Part 5 (Waiting Here for You-Part 2) while I ate. It’s a long one—I even did the dishes and folded a load of towels before it was over—but trust me, it’s sooo worth the listen! He takes Psalm 37 from a single’s standpoint, but it really can be applied to anything you might be waiting on (job, next step in life, kids, etc.). You probably shouldn’t even bother to read the rest of this post because I can’t do this message justice. Just go read all of Psalm 37 for yourself and listen to the sermon.

Trust in the LORD and do good;
         Dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness.

Delight yourself in the LORD;
         And He will give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the LORD,
         Trust also in Him, and He will do it.

He will bring forth your righteousness as the light
         And your judgment as the noonday.

Rest in the LORD and wait patiently for Him;
         Do not fret because of him who prospers in his way,
         Because of the man who carries out wicked schemes.

 Wait for the LORD and keep His way,
And He will exalt you to inherit the land.
{excerpts from Psalm 37}

The main point of Louie’s message was that waiting is active. He focused in on “cultivating faithfulness,” which messed with my heart in the most beautiful way. (Do the right thing, in the small things, when it’s unseen.”/”Camp out in the place of truth… Trust in the Lord, and do good; Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness.”) 

But what refreshed my heart more than my free iced tea ever could was verse 34: Wait for God, obey Him, and He’ll fulfill His promises. He’s promised not to withhold any good thing {Psalm 84:11} from those who walk uprightly. If something is good for me, He’ll give it to me when the time is right. It’s very easy for me to become discontent and I am constantly having to preach this verse to myself. May I keep my standards high and find my delight in Jesus, waiting patiently with Him to give me the land.

So thanks for dinner, Louie. My physical tummy was full of yummy comfort food and my spiritual tummy got a good dose of sweet and salty–the perfect mix of conviction and refreshment.

Leave a Reply

