one thousand gifts {#1795-1839}

Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.”

We sang this during the morning worship service at my church and I couldn’t help but smile the whole time. He’s so good! 1839 and counting!

1795. waiting to serve. taking chances to serve. serving. {galatians 5:13}


1796. lunch at home on pretty dishes
1797. sharing the joy of monotonous moments on the phone with aunt janna
1798. ninja ballerina grace notes
1799. long chats with amy while she’s making dinner
1800. {psalm 37}


1801. finally using my new umbrella– even if only for a second
1802. the estes boys humming “nothing but the blood” in the conference room before reciting the preamble. then looking at cat rescue websites with me. LOL!
1803. a beautiful picture of momentary marriage
1804. josie’s fried chicken, whipped sweet potatoes, and green beans while listening to louie giglio


1805. a neat connection with the bath girl–a sister in Christ who’s been to caraguatatuba. wow!
1806. hearing how God is working in ashley’s life over breakfast at the barrel (He IS sovereign over all. He placed 7 Paneras in her new city!!!!)
1807. “i hope that rumor’s true”
1808. a new car jar!
1809. thoughts on being a lady that came out of nowhere.
1810. too much tea
1811. telling my kids about the tabernacle and getting this response:
E: “oh that’s the ark of the covenant.”
L: “oh yeah! i think i’ve seen that on kung fu panda before.”

1812. reminiscing about UK band with erin–how i didn’t know her, fireworks in 1812, hairy superman tattoos, and pregame fun (and brownies that dress their lines)
1813. “you smell like campfire”
1814. being called the #1 customer at menchie’s. yikes.
1815. spending the morning in maine looking at non-profits that hold lobster bakes. ahhh.
1816. designing graphics
1817. Jesus being a friend of sinners–overwhelmed that He would not only associate with me, but die my rightful death.
1818. God graciously giving us another year full of songs & giggles with my grandmother. 93 years. and i firmly believe He allowed her to realize it was her birthday so all of us could enjoy it that much more. she was her old, chipper, hilarious, singing, adorable self. a most beautiful birthday present for everyone. {did you get your gift from her?}
1819. a most friendly cashier at burger king
1820. life lessons from the boss about weeds
1821. chatting with uncle tom & aunt janna
1822. secretariat
1823. the neighbors coming to wish granny a happy birthday
1824. Christ being the Sun that warms my cold heart. ( I know I can’t be a light unless I turn my face to You…)
1825. saturday morning brunch from mom.


1826. God placing the perfect gift in the case
1827. spending one last night with this particular band family. love them so.


1828. thoughtful gifts & sweet notes with signatures.
1829. being overwhelmed by a flood of memories that almost turned into a flood of thankful tears in the tearsmobile in kerry’s driveway
1830. obnoxious bucket
1831. hugs ❤
1832. eucharisteo on a card. WOW!
1833. unintentionally matching my mom on mother’s day, creating the perfect scenario for a reenactment pic


1834. getting up early to make lasagna before church
1835. my heart feeling so full {psalm 103:2}
1836. seeing myself as a leper who was healed
1837. sunday lunch with mom & dad


1838. new umbrella finally put to GOOD use!!!!


1839. starbucks with ate. a new one: skinny cinnamon dolce latte frappuccino with light whip. MMMM!

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

2 thoughts on “one thousand gifts {#1795-1839}

  1. Such joy here! Thank you for sharing your blessings. I add my thanks to yours. (The “ninja ballerina grace notes” does have me intrigued, I confess.) You were my neighbor at the gratitude community today, and it was a delight to be blessed in your blessings. Grace to you in Jesus today and in the week ahead.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, thankful neighbor. Your visit was grace indeed.
      About the ninja ballerina grace notes…I give flute lessons and one of my students was having trouble understanding how to play a particular style. “Ninja ballerina grace notes” is what came out of my mouth to describe what I wanted to hear–and that’s exactly what she played. 🙂 Whatever works I guess! haha!

Leave a Reply

