The Gospel Coalition Women’s Conference 2012

I just returned from a refreshing long weekend in Orlando at The Gospel Coalition’s 2012 Women’s Conference with my mom and our dear friend Kathy. So how does a girl sum up 14 sessions and 36 pages of notes? I don’t know, but by the grace of God, I’m going to try to give you a glimpse of what God has been teaching me over the past few days. You can read my feeble attempts at summarizing these tremendous messages or do yourself a favor and listen to them when the audio becomes available on The Gospel Coalition’s website. A little note, anything in pink is what REALLY stood out to me in that message.

Because of this conference, Jesus is bigger in my eyes. I hope He becomes bigger in yours as well. The thing I loved most about this conference is that the Gospel was emphasized in EVERY single message in a beautifully simple way. God is holy. I am a great sinner. God wants to have a relationship with me, but a price must be paid. Because of His incredibly great love, He sent His Son to die my rightful death, absorbing His wrath and pardoning my sin. And not only that, Christ lives eternally and is seated at the right hand of the Father, interceding on my behalf. Now His Spirit lives within me, leading me and enabling me to follow God’s will. I strive to live a life of obedience out of gratitude for the marvelous things He has done.

You can view my lengthy, scattered notes from the messages here. Or might I suggest you visiting Gospel Grace, too? She did a fabulous job live-blogging this conference and getting to the heart of each message.

Preserving the Gospel
Don Carson
The Search for Joy & the Supremacy of God in the Gospel
John Piper
{If I had to pick just one message out of all these that I would make my friends listen to, it’d be this one.}
On the Mountain: The Terrifying & Beckoning God (Exodus 19)
Tim Keller
In the Temple: The Glorious & Forgiving God (1 Kings 8)
Paige Benton Brown
In the Throne Room: The God of Holiness & Hope (Isaiah 6)
John Piper
From a Miry Swamp: The God Who Comes & Delivers (Psalm 40)
Carrie Sandom
The Snare of Compare (John 21)
Carolyn Mahaney
Gospel Outreach to Muslims & Others Who Don’t Look Like You
Keri Folmar & Leeann Stiles
Treasuring Christ in our Traditions
Noel Piper
In the Third Heaven: The God Who Can’t Be Talked About (1 Corinthians 12)
Jenny Salt
On Another Mountain: The God Who Points to His Son (Matthew 17)
Nancy Leigh DeMoss
Through the Open Door: The Transcendent & Redeeming God (Revelation 4-5)
Kathleen Nielson
Home at Last: The Spectacular God at the Center (Revelation 21-22)
Don Carson

Below is a sample of what it was like to worship with the Gettys. Sadly, their newest album has not yet been released and most of the songs we sang were from that. Looking forward to it! Here’s one we sang to start our Sunday morning!

(And last, but certainly not least–a special, special, special super thanks to my dad and my Aunt Janna for holding down the fort at home and taking care of my grandmother.)

Leave a Reply

