one thousand gifts {#2228-2256}

“Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”

{Philippians 4:11-13} 

I have been blessed to share my Tuesday nights this summer with sweet sisters of all ages from all different churches. My mom has opened up our home for dinner and time in the Word. It’s been most refreshing to hear what God is teaching those around me and also to share what He’s been teaching me. The theme has been “Treasures.” This past week was “The Treasure of Contentment.” I gleaned so much from what my sisters had to say and want to share with you the overarching theme that kept coming up as each one shared.  

Contentment: Resting in the truth that everything is okay because Christ is in control.

I’m still learning how to be content, but I know the secret of how to be: it’s His strength in me. It’s not easy to let go of my selfish ambitions and what I think is best, but knowing that God is in control gives me peace and hope for the future. He’s given me salvation and that is more than enough, but He’s also lavished lots of lovely gifts–He’s that good.

May you be content with Christ alone this week and recognize all the good gifts that come from His hand.

2228. trying new things and succeeding
2229. {psalm 73:25-26}
2230. a free evening & shiny jewelry
2231. a patience parade
2232. beer cheese blt
2233. reminded to pray for a traveling friend after seeing her car parked at the post office under a baby blue sky <(
2234. a surprise visit from missionary anita stanton at Bible study. what a precious, encouraging woman! (and for the record, if i ever go to the mission field, i’m buying ice scrapers for all my supporters)
2235. tired, but refreshed. gleaning from sweet sisters in the Word that contentment is resting in the truth that everything is okay because God is in control
2236. natalie’s chocolate chip cookies
2237. a coca-cola box in just the right form to help this short girl knock the new toilet paper down from the top of the office cabinet
2238. calls from chan to his gran at lunch
2239. more new things that no longer seem as daunting
2240. flute hymns in the basement
2241. a surprise full tank of gas
2242. long chats
2243. one of those “vibrate off the desk” text days with lots of “pray for me’s” and “what should i do with my life?” texts–honored and humbled
2244. He has told every lightning bolt where it should go


2245. hysterical voicemail. “who you is.”
2246. free soup at the mexican place
2247. laughing uncontrollably at a #winnerwinnerwoodwinddinner
2248. “It’s a state law in Kentucky that in order to have a college, you must have a basketball team.” -Caveman
*straight face* “Really?” -Kerry
2249. catch phrase hilarity at menchie’s with woodwind girls and an oc.
2250. praying for the brokenhearted of aurora
2251. throwing surprise parties!


2252. a Great High Priest
2253. watching sheer joy on anisha’s face at the drink machine!
2254. decorating with pink with ate!
2255. celebrating mery’s upcoming baby girl!


2256. watching “the blind side” with sara t.

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

Leave a Reply

