one thousand gifts {2604-2675}

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.
{John 14:27}

Peace.

That is what God has given my family and I over the past couple of weeks. I never thought I’d be able to face the passing of my grandmother–even though I knew were she was going and knew she’d be better off and knew that God was in control. It was a day I dreaded for a majority of my life.

I know you have one of those fears, too.

You know that day you never think you’ll be able to face? Don’t worry about it.
He gives you grace when you get there–not a moment too soon and not a moment too late! He’s perfectly on time.

He’s absolutely DRENCHED us with grace.

He’s blanketed us with peace.

He’s flooded us with mercy.

He’s proven His love.

Take heart! There is nothing to worry about. He will do the same for you as you trust in Him!

You keep him in perfect peace
whose mind is stayed on you,
because he trusts in you.
Trust in the LORD forever,
for the LORD GOD is an everlasting rock.
{Isaiah 26:3-4}

2604. a bank holiday and christopher columbus (in retrospect, this day off was one of the greatest gifts ever–I spent most of the day at home with my grandmother during her last full day on earth)
2605. telling a student, “don’t do iiiiiit!” and him responding, “that’s exactly what mrs. b said.” {made. my. day.} can’t say she never made an impact. 🙂
2606. roger cruz providentially bringing us dinner
2607. a foggy, brisk morning turned to blue skies
2608. the call
2609. praying for God to show mercy and Him being exceedingly merciful!
2610. just knowing.
2611. a precious, kind waitress
2612. peace beyond description
2613. locking the door and going to red lobster to celebrate a LIFE WELL LIVED!
2614. knowing that granny heard “well done” around noon today ~ laughing thinking how she probably reacted to seeing uncle benny and aunt lee ann in heaven ~ being jealous that she’s singing to our King face-to-face ~ loving that she is basking in His glory
2615. {isaiah 40} {psalm 46:1}
2616. peace that is indescribable & no tears. numbness?
2617. being able to laugh hysterically while making funeral arrangements. SUCH a blessing! (and those directors–my, my…)
2618. a “that’s ok” perfectly timed on accident for a really good laugh
2619. old pictures ♥
2620. grace — for the MOMENT.
2621. wayne coming to haul our garbage
2622. a sovereign tray of sandwiches from cassie
2623. using the $6,258 timpani to test a website’s payment options
2624. election training–being the “perfect voter”
2625. the sovereignty of God on display in my refrigerator. vegetable soup FTW!
2626. family. ♥


2627. approximately 198 people coming to the visitation to honor granny and show their love. unbelievable.
2628. big, heartfelt hugs
2629. curing hiccups (with ziploc bags?!)

Uncle Sam and Amelia curing hiccups by catching them in a ziploc bag

2630. “shouldn’t we be mad at adam and eve?” -amelia. i love love love gospel chats with children!
2631. hugs–the squeeze-you-silly kind
2632. the absolute kindest, most genuine thank you anyone has ever given me
2633. the grace and strength to play the prelude
2634. mom singing
2635. aunt janna’s beautiful tribute
2636. dad preaching the gospel so clearly and honoring my grandmother (and mom) so well. my question to you today is not “do you know the Lord,” but “do you love the Lord like granny loved the Lord?”
2637. amanda reminding us that “we take care of people” in our family. that’s just what we do.
2638. a most lovingly prepared lunch. homemade rolls, cake, and even an apple cake. i love those new lifers!
2639. cousins.


2640. seeing little cousins playing together and hearing doors slam all over the house. “excuse me. can i have a glass of water now?”
2641. negotiating the price of a pint of blueberries
2642. a string of toilet paper. LOL!
2643. hearing my 95 year-old aunt ginny fill in the Scriptures at the graveside service. such a blessing!


2644. a full house. “when love is in the house, the house is packed!”
2645. telling jerry that they definitely put the fun in funeral
2646. being reminded that my life is not my own
2647. sunday lunch at pf chang’s with ate, mom, and dad!
2648. teaching sunday school
2649. best sunday afternoon nap ever
2650. “when i get carried away” piano duet with mom for offertory
2651. the GOSPEL beautifully proclaimed
2652. john 14:1-6 preciously recited by ava
2653. leftovers with EVERYone after church
2654. bronze mums


2655. celebrating sadie’s birthday
2656. a reply
2657. ate making dinner for us
2658. mrs. cantrell eating with us
2659. trusting in the Lord rather than chariots or horses after that ridiculous debate
2660. spicy creamy tomato basil chicken soup at bella notte for lunch with dad
2661. a reply AND a follow. unbelievable.
2662. starjazz with erin…finally!
2663. sending cards
2664. He frees our hearts to live out His grace
2665. kind, presumably encouraging words
2666. a hug from hunter on a seemingly wasted lunch break errand
2667. andrew peterson & caleb concert at SBTS with mom & dad and getting to sit with the Hunters!
2668. ♪ promises written in a script of stars! ♪
2669. my fingerprints being covered with the fingerprints of God


2670. dinner at the vance’s!
2671. sketch gas station, sketchier flea market, a beautiful drive down US-60, 12 great bands, a goose chase that ended at dairy queen, hysterical laughs on I-64, and a heart-to-heart on new circle. happy john moose day!


2672. a most hysterical announcer with “something-to-think-about” thoughts
2673. celebrating mom’s birthday at chop house!
2674. there is nothing that happens by accident. God is absolutely SOVEREIGN!
2675. eglon, ehud, fat, excrement from the buttocks, and FIGHTING THE FLESH!
^^ that’s an awkward one to end on, but really…go read judges 3, one of my favorite childhood Bible stories…then go listen to a beautiful Gospel exposition of it by my dad! ^^

“To see the glory, name the graces.”

Since reading One Thousand Gifts, I started my own journal of grace-gifts God blesses me with every day. I will spare listing all of them here, but I will try to share some of my favorites every Monday. 

2 thoughts on “one thousand gifts {2604-2675}

Leave a Reply

