Valentine Blondie Bars {Recipe}

So. I love Valentine’s Day. Like a lot. Towards the end of January, I start getting sucked into the hearts, the pink, the red, the lace, the sweets–all of it. What 25 year old who hates hearts buys little kid heart pencils?

Starbucks Love

Whatever. I’ve learned to embrace my love for Valentine’s Day for the benefit of others. I actually gave a friend a gift the other day in a Valentine’s Day gift bag–nevermind that it was actually a belated Christmas present.

One of my favorite expressions of love is food, so when I saw these cute treats on Pinterest, I just had to make them–and who better to share them with than my LCA Band kids? They’re the guinea pigs for all my new sweets. Conveniently, my little cousin came over on Friday night and this gave us a fun, interactive project to do together. (No worries, I shared some with her, too.)

These little blondie brownie bites are super easy to make and are oh-so-festive for any occasion! You can simply change out the color of the m&ms to match the current season.

Valentine Blondie Bars
adapted from BakedPerfection.com

1 C. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/8 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/3 C. butter
1 C. packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 T. vanilla extract
2/3 C. + 1/3 C. m&m’s (1 C. total)

Preheat oven to 350o.

Melt 1/3 cup butter. Add 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar and mix well. Cool slightly.

While waiting for this mixture to cool, in a separate bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and set aside.

Add one beaten egg and vanilla to the butter/brown sugar mixture and blend well. Add flour mixture, a little at a time, mixing well. Mix in 2/3 cup m&m’s. Spread in well-greased 9 x 9 x 2 inch pan. Sprinkle remaining 1/3 cup m&m’s on top. Bake at 350o for 20-25 minutes. Store in airtight container at room temperature.

My parents thought these should have nuts in them, but they think that about every kind of dessert. If you have similar taste buds (really I think it’s all about the texture here…so similar texture buds?), throw in some walnuts.

Valentine Blondie BarsI also made some of Anita Stanton’s Better-than-Boxed Brownies.
{Recipe}

Lastly, if you’re wondering where I found the Valentine Blondie Brownies recipe, of course I found it on Pinterest. I even have a whole board dedicated to Valentine’s Day. You can check it out by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

