Enough.

I read David Platt’s Radical when it first came out a couple of years ago and while it did help change the way I view the world and the way I choose to live my life, my life didn’t really change too drastically. After hearing multiple sermons on Luke 9-10 and having conversations with friends who are following with a price, I’ve decided to reread it–this time with a new set of eyes and at a little bit different stage in life.

This time around, I find myself being able to read only a few little bites at a time because it’s so doggone convicting.

David Platt Radical Happy MealAs I was eating my lunch in McDonald’s today (a happy meal with David Platt just sounds so right), I started reading chapter 2 where he describes meeting with an underground house-church in a small room. I had to put the book down and just sit for a while after reading the following passage. It’s followed me all day.

“Despite its size, sixty believers have crammed into it. They are all ages, from precious little girls to seventy-year-old men. They are sitting either on the floor or on small stools, lined shoulder to shoulder, huddled together with their Bibles in their laps. The roof is low, and one light bulb dangles from the middle of the ceiling as the sole source of illumination. 

No sound system.
No band. 
No guitar. 
No entertainment. 
No cushioned chairs. 
No heated or air-conditioned building. 
Nothing but the people of God and the Word of God. 
And strangely, that’s enough. 

God’s Word is enough for millions of believers who gather in house churches just like this one. His Word is enough for millions of other believers who huddle in African jungles, South American rain forests, and Middle Eastern cities. 

But is His Word enough for us?

This is the question that often haunts me when I stand before a crowd of thousands of people in the church I pastor. What if we take away the cool music and the cushioned chairs? What if the screens are gone and the stage is no longer decorated? What if the air conditioning is off and the comforts are removed? Would His Word still be enough for His people to come together?” {Radical, pg. 26-27}

I’m grateful to attend a “no-frills added” kind of church. I don’t say that to brag at all–it’s certainly only by God’s grace that the premium is placed on the Gospel and His Word is the best thing we have to offer.

It’s easy to lose sight of what our focus should truly be. So often I find myself comparing my church to other churches–even the trivial physical aspects. When these silly thoughts pop into my head and I have to be swift to capture them and make them flee because what truly matters in the end? God’s Word.

We may not have a multi-million dollar freestanding building. We may not have a praise band. We may not have a coffee bar. We may not have an unbelievably decorated children’s ministry wing. But we do have the Word of God–and that is enough.

“For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven
and do not return there but water the earth,
making it bring forth and sprout,
giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater,
so shall My Word be that goes out from My mouth;
it shall not return to Me empty,
but it shall accomplish that which I purpose,
and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.”
{Isaiah 55:10-11}

Leave a Reply

