On Why My Profile Picture Didn’t Change

Many of my friends this week have turned into little red boxes with pink equal signs, showing their support for marriage equality.

Other friends have changed to a red box with a pink cross, showing they love people of all sexual orientations and that God loves them, too.

Still, other friends have turned into parallel vertical lines that are blue and pink.

As for me, I haven’t changed my profile picture (which apparently counts as taking a stand these days?!). There have been a lot of thoughts to sift through during this week and many things to consider. For the most part, I’ve been pretty much silent on the issue on my social media platforms because I feel like my stance would be too easily misconstrued and perceived as “hateful” (which is especially easy to do when a “friendship” is dumbed down through social media and has little-to-no face-to-face interaction…but that’s another topic for another day). 

I think we can all agree that true friends want the best for their friends. Any time I see a friend who makes a poor decision that goes contrary to what God has designed for our good, it breaks my heart.

You may not think my stance or my message shows love at all. But before you write me off and define me as a radical right-wing crazy homophobe, please know that in all reality, I’d be doing the furthest thing from showing you love if I didn’t share with you what God’s best is for you.

“Our society strives to avoid any possibility of offending anyone–except God.”
{Billy Graham}

So at the risk of offending you, because I love you, I share the following.

God created us in His image, but when sin entered the world at the fall of Adam and Eve, all of us became bent and broken. It’s completely natural for our flesh to bend towards sin–that’s our nature. So really, when it comes to people practicing homosexuality, it doesn’t shock me. My expectations for those without Christ are pretty low–I expect them to sin. I was born a sinner, too. 

Wait Sarah. Are you saying that homosexuality is a sin?” Yes I am. I can’t escape what God has laid out in His Word, which remains my standard.

“Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.”
{1 Corinthians 6:9-11}

We rebel against the very One who made us. And doesn’t the One who made us know what is best for us? Homosexuality is one of the plethora of sins that goes against God’s good intent and desires for us. 

But God loves us too much to leave us as rebels lost in our sin and He paid a very high price to restore our relationship with Him. Why did He have to pay such a high price? Because God is holy and just. He despises sin of all types and absolutely no sin can be in His presence. Not only that, every sin must be punished. My sin had to be paid for. So God sent His only Son, Jesus, to live the perfect life I could not live–one without sin–to die in my place.  Instead of me paying for my sin myself by spending an eternity in Hell separated from God, Jesus absorbed all the wrath God had reserved for my sin when He died on the cross.

Since I’ve realized there’s nothing I can do on my own to repair my relationship with God, I have put my faith and trust in Christ’s finished work. Now when God looks at me, He no longer sees my sin, but He sees Christ’s perfect, spotless righteousness covering me and He accepts me, welcoming me as His child.

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”
{Galatians 2:20}

God gave His Best so that I might be restored into an intimate relationship with Him. And He continues to work in me to conform me into His image–the one that was warped by sin and made me a rebel to His will. I’m not perfect by any means, but the Holy Spirit persistently chips away at the marred, broken pieces of my heart, makes me new, and enables me to live a life that is pleasing to God.

If He loved you enough to die for you, I believe that also shows that He knows what’s best for you. There’s a whole Book filled with guidelines for what is best for us. So what does He define as best for us in marriage? One man. One woman. For as long as they live. 

“Have you not read that he who created them from the beginning made them male and female, and said, ‘Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’? So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.”
{Matthew 19:4-6}

Life is always best when you follow what your Creator intended for you. 

I guess if I had to change my profile picture to something else in order to take a stand, I’d just want it to be solid red because it would remind me that the blood of Christ covers all my sin solely because of His grace alone. Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe. 

That verse I shared earlier? There’s hope because of the blood of Christ.

“Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.
And such were some of you.
But you were washed,
you were sanctified,
you were justified
in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ
and by the Spirit of our God.

{1 Corinthians 6:9-11}

I’m not here to debate. I’m not here to build walls of hostility. I’m simply expressing what has been on my heart as so many of you have been expressing what is on your heart.

Friends, I love you and I want the best for you. So I plead with you: Go for His best. 

12 thoughts on “On Why My Profile Picture Didn’t Change

  1. You wrote this at 3:15 in the a.m.? Wow! Very well written. Showing proof of why you believe what you believe. I talk to people quite frequently who say they “believe” in Jesus … but talk to them a little more in detail, and they really don’t believe … at least according to them, they don’t believe that what He says about certain things is true. There is a difference between not understanding everything, and understanding what is being said and not believing.

    • Thank you, Barb. Your comment reiterates the importance of adhering to the whole counsel of the Word. Too often, people like to snip out what they don’t like.

      As far as 3:15 in the morning–I have no idea why it published that way. haha! I worked on it off and on all evening long, up until about midnight. ;o)

    • Thank you for your kind words, Mrs. Everson. Your family is one of the sweetest that I have the privilege of knowing. I so much appreciate them and their love for the Lord, much of which I’m sure has to do with your faithfulness of raising them up in His nurture and admonition. So thank YOU! Much love to you as well. ♥

  2. I am so proud of you for being able to put into words the way I feel but saying it so much better than I ever could!!! Love you!!

    • Thank you, Tommie Marie. I’m humbled you’d read them. I often find it so hard to put into words exactly what I’m feeling, but I know the Lord can use my jumbled up words for His glory anyway. Love you, too! ♥

  3. Sarah, couldn’t have been said any better. Definately the Holy Spirit walked with you on this. Praise God, my sister in Christ!!!

    • Thank you, Carla. He was DEFINITELY faithful to lead me every step of the way as I had asked Him to do. Humbled that He’d use my jumble of words for His glory. Thank you for stopping by. May the Lord richly bless your weekend!

  4. Well said, and a great encouragement. The “old, old, story that I have loved so long” really does make the “new, new, song.” God bless you, Sarah.

    • Thank you, Mr. Banks. That old, old story really never does get old! I so much appreciate your encouraging words. He has certainly blessed beyond measure! Hope you have had a wonderful Easter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

