Guarding Your Heart

“Guard your heart.” I’m sure girlfriends who are younger than me get really sick of me saying this whenever they ask me for advice. That’s my default answer to just about every situation they can throw at me–but obviously, it’s extremely important to guard your heart because everything that we do flows from it. Image from Disciple Magazine [http://www.disciplemagazine.com/www/articles/144.478]

Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.
{Proverbs 4:23}

Secure it. Shelter it. Shepherd it. Shield it. Tend to it. Defend it. Watch it. Preserve it. Keep an eye on it. Guard it!

It’s easy for me to tell them to guard their hearts, but it’s much more difficult to actually apply it–especially when I forget to remind them that it’s only through Christ that a heart can be guarded.  

For several years now, I’ve pondered this verse and how it corresponds to Philippians 4:7. The relation between these two verses is so beautiful!

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
{Philippians 4:7}

If I am trying to guard my own heart, I will fail every time. But as Paul closes out his letter to the church at Philippi, he reminds them that the peace of God is what guards our hearts and our minds in Christ Jesus!

The peace of God will guard it! Where does the peace of God come from? First off, you must realize that there’s nothing you can do on your own to please the holy and righteous God of the universe. We are at enmity with Him. There is no peace. The good news is that the holy and righteous God of the universe has provided a way for us to have peace with Him! He provided a way for us to escape His just judgment through His mercy in sending His Son. Jesus Christ died the death that you deserved to die. And when you place your faith in Christ and what He has done, He cleanses you from your sin–just as if you never sinned!–and clothes you with His righteousness. THEN we have peace with God!

Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.
{Romans 5:1}

Since I have been justified by faith, I have peace with God through Jesus Christ, my Lord. He is my Master who knows what is best for me and I serve Him out of a heart of gratitude. I have eternal peace, but sometimes I can lose that sense of peace when I stray from what He wants me to do. When my heart becomes zoned out and lazy, unwatchful and unalert, my guard is down. It becomes easy to default to my fleshly depraved nature and lose all sense of peace.

But to add peace in my life, I simply need to obey what God has told me to do.

My son, do not forget my teaching,
but let your heart keep my commandments,
for length of days and years of life
and peace they will add to you.
{Proverbs 3:1-2}

It seems like God is always teaching me the same lesson: Get in the Word, apply what He shows you in the Word, and He will always bless you with peace as you’re obeying.

But the Lord is faithful; He will strengthen you and guard you from the evil one.
{2 Thessalonians 3:3}

The Lord will be faithful to keep my heart for all eternity. May I be swift to obey all He has laid out in His Word!

Keep your heart with all vigilance,
for from it flow the springs of life.
Put away from you crooked speech,
and put devious talk far from you.
Let your eyes look directly forward,
and your gaze be straight before you.
Ponder the path of your feet;
then all your ways will be sure.
Do not swerve to the right or to the left;
turn your foot away from evil.
{Proverbs 4:23-27}

2 thoughts on “Guarding Your Heart

  1. Well said Sarah too have been pondering/meditating on the verse in Proverbs ch. 3 this week (we covered it Sunday) Some companion verses; Joshua 1:8 This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.

    This is but a part of the ravages of sin—that we so easily let slip away spiritual things, Heb. 2:1 Therefore we ought to give the more earnest heed to the things which we have heard, lest at any time we should let them slip.

    One of Satan’s basic tactics= stealing away of the Word (in addition to our own flesh letting it slip b/c of lack of diligence) Press On!!

    • Exactly! Geri, we are always on the same page! :o) Every single time I listen to a sermon, no matter who it is or what passage it’s from, the take-away I get is “Ok Sarah. You need to get in the Word more.”

Leave a Reply

