Chasing Your Love

“The power of music can impact our mood, emotions, our day. But when you merge the strength of music with the heart, hope and passion of the Gospel… it has the ultimate power not only to change someone’s day, but to impact them for eternity. This is why we write music and sing songs – we hope that people will be moved, encouraged and stirred to live a life for Someone greater than themselves.”
{Joel Smallbone of For King & Country}

I’ve been enjoying For King & Country’s album Crave as I’ve been driving around this summer. If you listen to Christian radio at all, you’ve probably heard their songs The Proof of Your Love or Busted Heart during the last year. Their poignant lyrics resonate with what my heart often feels and the melodies are very catchy (not to mention their Aussie accents). 

As I was listening to Busted Heart on my way home from work this afternoon, I was reminded of how much God really loves me and how often I take His matchless love for granted. It gets so easy to just float by in life, focusing on the mundane day-to-day, forgetting about what God has done for me.

♪ I am the wondering son / Your love is never enough / I keep chasing the wind / Instead of chasing Your love ♪

If I’m not pursuing God with my whole heart second by second, I’m chasing after wind–empty, worthless things that have no meaning. This all declares that I don’t think His love is enough.

God relentlessly pursued me with His unconditional love while I was dead in my sins against Him. He died the death I deserved and gave me life! Oh that I would keep this as the center of my focus. Knowing that, how could I not want to chase His love continually?! How much richer life would be if I ran hard after His love. As they sang so well, I’ve got a busted heart. I’m in need of a change. I’m desperate for grace. I want Him to hold on to me and not let me lose my way. 

Perhaps I should start by running toward the 66 volume love letter He wrote to me. 

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! {1 John 3:11}

For King & Country Crave

Check out the rest of their Crave album! I doubt you’ll skip very many. 

Leave a Reply

